Read: Perfect Hostage–A Life of Aung San Suu Kyi
by Justin Wintle

Borrowed this from the library after browsing a copy at Kinokuniya. The academic writing’s a little hard to digest at times but the story’s as captivating as it is touching and horrifying. Somehow I cannot reconcile the writer’s account with my memory of Burma, even if I know all the atrocities were committed and weren’t just figments of the imagination. I wonder when I’ll visit Burma again..

I wish the world will start to remember Burma.

Watched: いつもふたりで (《永远两个人》)

いすもふたりで

Starring 阪口憲二 and one of my favourite Japanese actresses 松隆子. He ‘s a TV producer while she’s an aspiring author. The two childhood friends meet when she moves to Tokyo to pursue her dream of writing a book and she ends up moving in with him, his brother and the brother’s girlfriend… Hmm my description makes it sound like a typical romance but it really is so much more than that. The theme is really about following your dreams and not giving up, as cliche as it may sound.

Lovely quotes:
“沮丧的时候,即使自欺也要装坚强。因为久了之后,就会变成真的。”
“只要强烈的祈求,梦想一定能够成真。”
“我并不是放弃梦想,而是寻找下一个梦想。因为没有梦的人生,就像没味道的口香糖。”
“梦想不会只有一个。没有了就找个新的。这也没什么不好。虽然并不容易马上找到。”
“看不到前面,我想不是因为前面一片漆黑。未来总是光芒四射,只是因为过于耀眼,所以眼前才会暂时一片黑暗。”

Japanese dramas are the best. Hong Kong dramas are a close second. I simply cannot fathom why people are obsessed with Korean dramas.

Listened to: 夏川りみ《歌さがし~リクエストカバーアルバム~》

夏川りみ

Borrowed this from T because I wanted to listen to one particular song: 《さくら》(Sakura). This was the theme song for the 2004 JAL Scholarship Program. I still remember how we memorized the lyrics and performed it on stage during the Farewell Party, willing one another not to cry. The lyrics are absolutely lovely. (Please remind me to post them another time!)

