sg flyer

Yesterday was my first visit to the Singapore Flyer. My destination was Kokon Tozai, a boutique-cafe at the Flyer, so I didn’t actually take a ride. (Kokon Tozai’s cafe is lovely.)

It was a headache getting there, though.

Initially, I intended to walk from City Hall MRT, but after consulting WY, I decided to take a shuttle bus from the Coleman street bus stop, just opposite St. Andrew’s Cathedral. According to the Singapore Flyer website , the bus comes every 30 minutes.

sg flyer

At the bus stop, there is absolutely no sign or poster to indicate that it’s the correct waiting place. Fortunately, I reached early, and was fortunate enough to wait the full 30 minutes (during which I saw 2 shuttle buses going to Suntec City, and another going to Central). I later found out that FunVee (the blue sign at the bottom left) is actually the name of the shuttle service for the Flyer.

sg flyer

The interior of the bus. I was the only passenger. Apparently, you can get a refund for your $2 bus fare when you purchase a ticket for the Flyer.

sg flyer

Can you spot the Flyer? The ride takes about 10 minutes.

sg flyer

At the entrance to the Flyer. I thought this looked like a UFO.

sg flyer

People getting ready to board. The ground floor is a lovely garden with wooden park benches, surrounding which are several restaurants and cafes. Reminds me of Suntec City’s fountain and the restaurants circling it. The second floor houses different retail outlets and a few more eateries, whereas the third floor is where you get Flyer souvenirs.

sg flyer

A view of the garden from the second floor.

sg flyer

I honestly prefer the ferris wheels I’ve seen in Japan. A ferris wheel should be colourful, even if it’s called a Flyer.

sg flyer

This is what the area should look like after construction works are completed. (I photographed the designer’s impression printed on a board outside the construction site.)

—–

昨天第一次到“摩天観景輪”。
不懂爲甚麽不能叫摩天輪。

更喜歡在日本看到的,多彩的摩天輪。

