84 charing cross road

This is a beautiful, beautiful book.

I don’t know why I never read it earlier… then I could’ve re-read it so many more times.

This particular edition has a lovely fabric-like cover, thick creamy paper and proper neat fonts, all of which remind me of why reading is most satisfying when flipping, not clicking.

It also contains Helene Hanff’s 1973 sorta-follow-up book “The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street”. One of my favourite parts:

“All my life I’ve wanted to see London. I used to go to English movies just to look at streets with houses like those. Staring at the screen in a dark theatre, I wanted to walk down those streets so badly it gnawed at me like hunger. Sometimes, at home in the evening, reading a casual description of London by Hazlitt or Leigh Hunt, I’d put the book down suddenly, engulfed by a wave of longing that was like homesickness. I wanted to see London the way old people want to see home before they die.”

This is exactly how I feel about Japan and increasingly, Taipei.

Now I really want to watch the movie.

