1) Hello Kitty: The Remarkable Story of Sanrio and the Billion Dollar Feline Phenomenon, by Ken Belson & Brian Bremner

Interesting read even for non Hello Kitty fans (or perhaps I’m not in a fair position to say this), but the editing is way too loose. Still, I enjoyed reading about the birth of Sanrio and Hello Kitty, and how the Hello Kitty revival developed. Long live Hello Kitty!

2) The Taste of Country Cooking, by Edna Lewis

Recipes and stories about traditional American country cooking. No pictures, but delicious all the same. Reading this reminds me of the home food I grew up with, even though what I ate was pretty different.

3) Feast of Flavours from the Japanese Kitchen, by Keiko Ishida

Unable to locate Okashi, her newer book on Japanese desserts, I settled for this older title. The recipes all seem accessible and I’m very tempted to try them out. The section on Japanese ingredients and cooking equipment is very helpful!

